Lilwik wrote:A chief is like a ruler for natural allies, and we've never seen a ruler who wasn't a commander. I think there's a pretty good reason for that. Who would want to be ruled by someone like Wrigley of Summer Update 34 and B2T24? He really doesn't have the capacity to lead anyone, and all it would take are some shmuckers to promote him to warlord just like Stanley was promoted to warlord, and then I'm pretty sure he would instantly gain all the skills and abilities that all warlords have.
We have only seen one chief explicitly (as far as I remember) and that's Vurp. What do we know about Vurp? Not much really, mainly that he was a member of the Knights in Stanley's Service. Now it's certainly possible that the "Knights" part of that is merely poetic license, but it's more likely (IMO) that's it's literal, and they are all Knight class infantry. We know they're "the top units in all the regiments." Certainly seems like they aren't Commanders if they're referred to like that.
Lilwik wrote:]It's really hard to say why barbarian casters in the Magic Kingdom don't pop units using shmuckers. I agree that we can assume barbarians can do it because it is surely necessary for barbarians to survive, but there's several reason why it might not happen in the Magic Kingdom. For one thing, if it is possible it would be illegal. For another, the Magic Kingdom itself might prevent it. On the other hand I like the idea that casters are specially unable to do it. It seems to me that each Erfworlder must have a personal menu of things that he can pop by spending shmuckers and this is how Erfworlders fill their incidental needs for things like beds and tents when making camp, and warlords probably have troops of various kinds on their menus, while a caster creates troops by entirely different means. Several disciplines can create a kind of golem: Dirtamancy, Dollamancy, Hat Magic, and who knows what other disciplines. Flower Power can create tree monsters if they need units to lead. I bet they could do all of that in the Magic Kingdom; they just don't because it is illegal and no one really wants to fight there anyway, so I doubt that the Magic Kingdom needs to magically stop barbarian casters from using shmuckers to pop stabbers. Even if a caster wanted to pop a stabber, a caster doesn't know anything about commanding a stabber and so probably doesn't have stabbers on the menu.
This paragraph makes me want to gouge my eyes out. The amount of wild speculation you do on a regular basis really is infuriating. You've taken a relatively simple idea, namely that Natural Allies pop units in a different way than Capital sides, by spending Shmuckers directly, and taken it to ridiculous extremes. There is zero, I repeat zero evidence that any Man-like unit, under any circumstance, can pop units other than through the standard city mechanic. Now you're speculating that Casters can pop units using Shmuckers, when we have already seen how Casters make units, using juice to make golems.
I feel like I'm at point where I should foe you to save my sanity, but I really hope you can be redeemed.