The shape of Erfworld

Speculation, discoveries, complaints, accusations, praise, and all other Erfworld discussion.

The shape of Erfworld

Postby My2Cents » Sat Dec 28, 2013 7:59 pm

Since Erfworld is made of hexagons I've always assumed that it was flat.
But it just occurred to me, what if it's cylindrical?

Go far enough east/west, and you go back to where you started, go far enough north (or south) and you go over the edge, and end up in the magic kingdom. And if one face of the cylinder is the magic kingdom, is the other face the realm of the titans?
My2Cents

Re: The shape of Erfworld

Postby Lilwik » Sat Dec 28, 2013 8:53 pm

It could also be a toroid. That would save Erfworld from all the messiness of having an edge where the land just ends, as well as saving it from the trouble of being infinite. There's another thread discussing it here: Flat Erf Theory
Lilwik

Postby 0beron » Sun Dec 29, 2013 11:37 pm

I'm by no means a geometric expert, but I believe hexagons can also be tessellated to form a "sphere" (no it wouldn't technically be perfectly round, but would resemble a sphere) and Erfwolrd may exist on the inside or outside of the sphere (I would guess inside, thus allowing the soil to extend down indefinitely whereas the sky is finite, evidenced by the fact that some mountains are too high to fly over)
"I'm afraid I don't understand. And also afraid that I do."
GJC wrote:Two guys with basically the same name in a discussion about a character getting cloned.
There's gotta be a good joke in here somewhere.
0beron
YOTD + Pins Supporter!
YOTD + Pins Supporter!

Postby Lipkin » Mon Dec 30, 2013 12:41 am

Has a horizon ever been mentioned?
Lipkin
Print 2 Draw 3 Supporter!
Print 2 Draw 3 Supporter!

Postby 0beron » Mon Dec 30, 2013 1:29 am