Steve-D wrote:Wanda can save decrypyed units from croaking (or re-croaking?). How, exactly? They turn to dust; nothing to save.
Can she heal decrypyed units?
I am often amused by the way different people interpret what appears to me to be something completely different. Jack seemed to spell his advice to Wanda out very clearly:
Jack wrote:"Consider. All of these dwagons are alive, as are most of the riders, as am I. We can take a great deal of damage before we are croaked. Defenses will be used, arrows will be used, juice will be spent on us. And then..."
He leaned forward and tapped the Arkenpliers with his cane, affronting the Decrypted and annoying Wanda. "...must be spent again.
My bolds for emphasis. He is saying that the living members of Wanda's force can be effectively doubled by being Decrypted once they are killed. Forcing the attackers to expend twice the resources needed to kill them in the first place. And although Jack didn't mention it, perhaps more than twice the resources, assuming that Decrypted may receive a combat bonus while led by a Masterclass Croakamancer, similar to the bonus uncroaked get when similarly led. Even if the Decrypted ability to take damage is not augmented, if they gain a combat bonus they will inflict more damage and this will kill attackers at a faster rate than they did while alive, thus reducing the amount of damage the attackers can inflict.
I'm disturbed by Jack's suggestion that he veil Wanda. This is a direct contradiction of one of the rules of magic, as explained to the readers in Book 1 Pg 64
When Parson lists all of the reasons they can not veil their troops in the field, "we can't cast on the enemy's turn" is one of them, and it is the only limitation he listed which is still in force, since Jack is in the hex and since Jack is no longer a member of the Eyemancer link. With both Wanda and Sizemore present it would be ridiculous for this not to be corrected were it not the actual case. Especially Sizemore, who had just been teaching Parson about how magic works, should have spoken up to correct him if Parson had made such an elementary misstatement about the rules of magic.
This case can't even be hand waved away by citing the "casting defensively is allowed off-turn", since first a bat and then Ansom's entire stack had entered the central hex of the doughnut. This would have allowed a defensive veil to be cast, except for the fact that casting on the enemy's turn can not be done. Except now it can.