boegiboe wrote:Two theories, which are mutually incompatible:
A warlord leading a stack gives bonuses to that stack. They give no bonuses to anyone other than their stack.
A CWL gives special CWL bonuses to those they lead, those in the same hex, and those in their stack. These are in addition to the warlord bonuses they give to their stack. So, the CWL of level 10 gives their stack +10 as chief warlord AND +10 (or whatever) as the leader of the stack. Does this seem OP? Well, a given side is only allowed one CWL, and the CWL's stack can only have 7 other members (except for doombats, which are allowed to stack in special ways).
Chief warlord stacks do NOT, as a rule, go out in the front of the fight. The very first comic showed how a CWL was taken out because of a clever flanking maneuver by the marbits. It's quite likely that dance-fighting requires the dance-lead to be in front, and that accounts for several other instances of the CWL being in front. Along this line of possibility, the CWL doesn't have quite as good a bonus as a powerful sub-warlord's stack, so they hang back on purpose. I have to give a lot of weight to the first description of a fight in the comic. In that fight, the CWL was clearly supposed to be protected.
In the very first fight, all of the units appeared to be together in one tightly grouped stack, presumably to screen for the crossbows. During the Wanda/Ansom Dance off, Ansom is clearly Not in the very front
. Also, stacks BONUS max out at 8 troops, not max stack size. And we don't know how good that bonus is. I suspect it's not actually +8, And I def dont' think Chief Warlord has a double bonus, and here's why:
We've all quoted Summer Update Page 33 ad nauseum, so I'll skip the link. Ansom' in his stack is 33 attack. He has 10 leader bonus if it counts on him, +8 from being decrycpted and having wanda in his stack, and a stack bonus we don't know.
If stacks give +1 for each person in them, then as mentioned, that's 26. Which means if his +10- counts twice instead, he's already at 36, which can't be. Even if Stacking bonus is not even considered, that'd be 28. Which means that his personal attack is only 7 in the first case, and less then 5 in the second. That means that when people level, they earn only a fraction of 1 to attack with each level? Which seems unlikely, if his weakest infantry units in a 3 hex line have 6 attack on their own, that he'd only have one more. And leveling definitely has an effect on stats, word of the titans confirms that. I'm guessing stack bonus is actually pretty small (we also don't know if fractions can be added to each other in this world), and that his leadership only counts once, since I would put his attack in the double digits by the time he's level 10.
Consider this: In most Tabletop games (which this world is heavily based on) is the guy in charge of the battle generally in the weakest group? Odds are, he's in one of if not the strongest. I can't think the system here is reverse rigged so that subordinate stacks could constantly and easily be more powerful (a level 1 or 2 chief warlord would have every stack in his hex stronger then him in this case!). Aside from feeling completely wrong for the established world, it would lead us to expect a lot instances of stacks that weren't the chief warlords cutting a swath, when again, from what we've seen in comic the chief warlords stack is generally the big bad one.
Thus, I think the theories (including mine, yes
) that have lesser leadership bonus for warlords are the only ones that, while not proven persay, fit without having to make too many handwaves.
Squishalot wrote:It's not infeasible for Ansom to have a base attack of 7 as a Royal unit (being stronger than non-Royal ones).
Royalty provides no real bonus. That's the whole point of the comic.
Being noble in one's actions is generally a strategic failure, but the Royals believe that the Titans so favor such behavior that they, the Royals, should continue it. These Royals are being faced with the reality that nobility grants no bonus whatsoever. No one can see the bonus. Yet they believed it was there.
Ummm... no, yes they can. This is a world where people can see each others stats. So Royalty could literally see that it does in fact come with better stats then the "common" warlords and infantry popped, and that they take less time to level. Now, the question is, if that gives them a MANDATE to rule. But their statistical superiority can in fact be validated quickly.