cheeseaholic wrote:Hasn't it already been stated that corpses fall? No need to remove specials.
THAT is also a possibility...I can't believe I missed thinking of that! The original Slately may have croaked, and REGEDIT is Lloyd's spell duplicating him just in time to keep the side alive.
That's what I've been trying to say this whole time! Now that you mention it I think you're right about REGEDIT being Lloyd's just-in-the-nick-of-time spell too, rather than anything the archons did, if only because the color matches the glow we saw coming from Lloyd earlier.
elecampane wrote:Actually, Lloyd's spell could just have following effect: "Inert until target dies. Upon target's death duplicate the target".
Nah, Rule of Drama opposes such a theory. Not like that really means much, but I'd prefer to believe that this was a close save.
Thoke wrote:It could also be that archons can only remove specials from items. Wouldn't be so powerful that way. But I'm still suspicious about this ability. Doesn't seem like the spell belongs in either shockamancy, foolamancy, dollamancy, or thinkamancy.
Not part of dollamancy? Dollamancy made the item. Dollamancy should break the item.
It's already been said that adding/removing a flying special is in the domain of weirdomancy. Not that I doubt a full dollamancer could cast such a spell on a magic item like you suggest, but the archons are only pseudo-casters. They shouldn't have access to all the nuances of the field that proper specialist would.
Nnelg wrote:I just wanted to make it clear though: without conclusive evidence, assuming juice doesn't carry over from turn to turn is just as bad as assuming it does.
I disagree. From everything we've seen of Erfworld so far, we can safely assume that Juice doesn't carry over by default. We can't state it conclusively, but it's a more likely model of how it works. Erfworld has shown that each turn tends to reset units to their 'base state'. Wounds disappear, garbage vanishes, bodies are gone, etc. In the absence of conclusive evidence, casters returning to a "full juice" state seems more likely, and more "in character" for an Erfworld mechanic.
While it would certainly fit the pattern, I would think that magic is just as likely if not more
to be the exception that proves the rule. Of course it just as well might not be so. We don't have any conclusive evidence; both theories are just as valid (both match the known facts). As for which is more likely
... I doubt there's any way to really qualify that one, since it varies widely according to personal opinion.
0beron wrote:I have to agree with Marbit, based on the example of Bunny. Every turn, she spends her leftover juice thinkagraming with Caesar...if that was juice she could be saving instead, it'd be against her Duty to "waste" it with Caesar.
To play Devil's advocate though, Maggie is very astute about Stanley's mood, and does things to make sure he feels good about himself, because it's better for the side if he is. So perhaps keeping Caesar in a good mood also is better for the side (perhaps lessening his desire/chances of running a coup against Don).
Well, even if the Replenishing Theory is correct, she still could have been using that juice to scribe scrolls or do something else helpful to the side. All that really shows is that rulers don't usually micro their casters; and also that Duty isn't that
I'd also like to make it clear that it's possible that casters usually operate at 90% charged, and only spend as much juice as they gain every turn. So if the caster's at 91% at the end of a turn, the last 1% could be considered "leftover" because you'd lose the last 1% of a 10% regeneration anyways, if it wasn't spent. (And lest anyone misinterprets my words, these are just random numbers I'm throwing out here.)