twhitt wrote:Tinfoil hat time.
1) Charlie makes the decapitation strike, losing the penalty clause but gaining the bounty; Charlie is net positive.
2) Homekey the side is ended; Dove's contract with Homekey is ended.
3) The city of Homekey is host to parties with many varied allegiances:
3a) Former units of Homekey, which are probably not frozen due to active combat;
3b) Units of Delkey, which are almost definitely not frozen;
3d) Any support force from Numlock;
4) Barbarian commanders can capture cities, including capturing a capital site and the treasury thereof.
5) Archons and Dove eliminate remaining defenders, Charlie evacuates, and Dove claims the city and the treasury.
All the contracts are met or ended, no one violated their principles, and the two Carnymancers make out like bandits at the expense of every other unit and side.
Beeskee wrote:I was reluctant to assume Charlie was the Wizard, since it seems like if a butterfly farts in an unmapped hex, we're all ready to assume it's somehow part of Charlie's grand schemes to control the wind or whatever.
Aquillion wrote:We've been told that that's something you do with weirdamancy.youngstormlord wrote:f) Break/suspend a few rules for one turn. Give all the units in the tower a sudden flying special. Then end it. See d) for effects.
Tathar wrote:(I haven't done the math here. What's the point where Charlie would end up making less than he'd get from sticking to the contract?)
asparagus wrote:Aquillion wrote:We've been told that that's something you do with weirdamancy.youngstormlord wrote:f) Break/suspend a few rules for one turn. Give all the units in the tower a sudden flying special. Then end it. See d) for effects.
Yes I have been wondering about the difference. It seems Weirdomancy is more about the properties of units whereas carneymancy is more about the rules between units. But that seems a pretty flimsey distinction.
For example both a weirdomancer and a carneymancer can probably make it so that a particular unit does not take falling damage for that turn. Perhaps even a shockamancer can do that seeing as falling damage is natural shockamancy. That seems a lot of overlap for three disciplines.
I'm going to guess that Carnymancy can't do that. It seems to go against the style of Carnymancy as I understand it. Carnymancy seems to be about trickery. When a Carnymancer puts on a show, it seems to mean giving people something false to look at rather than a spectacular display of power. Remember how Sylvia avoided getting shot in Spacerock? It wasn't a magical force-field that blocked the arrow, and I don't expect a force-field to protect Posbrake. Posbrake would be protected by something that seems accidental but is actually Carnymancy putting on a show. My point is that there's no way to make a unit fly without being obviously magical, and that's not the sort of subtlety that I've come to expect from Carnymancy.Omnimancer wrote:Could a carnymancer make a rule like "This unit can fly despite not having the flying special?" Eh...I don't know.
drachefly wrote:That's what I was betting on (literally) but I'm not confident it will be carnal. He might just save the day.
He certainly needs to end up doing something major.
I seriously doubt that Dove is going to personally kill Posbrake. Ending the side would surely close the portal to the Magic Kingdom which would cut off Dove's escape route, plus there's no reason for Charlie to get the bounty if Dove does the killing. On the other hand, it's possible that Dove has an arrangement with Charlie for a ride back to the Magic Kingdom, and I'm sure that would be a very expensive taxi.Dox wrote:So what I'm hearing is that all Charlie has to do is to pay Dove to stab Posbrake in the back herself, and he won't have broken the contract.
I can't believe that Posbrake would agree to a contract that works that way. We've already seen them talking about penalties for each unit killed, so surely Posbrake would just pay a penalty for killing any archons who happen to accidentally die in the battle.Dox wrote:Also, he could pull a Merchant of Venice and say that as soon as a single Homekey unit strikes for 2HP damage instead of 1HP, they have broken the contract and Charlie is no longer bound by it.
That would mean that this becomes a story about lawyering, and that seems unlikely. If the exact wording of the contract was going to be important to the story then I'm fairly sure we would have been shown the exact wording of the contract, just like in B0E81.Dox wrote:I have no doubt that Charlie will stick very closely to the terms of the contract, but as a Carnymancer you just KNOW he's going to twist it somehow to mean what he wants it to mean.
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests