I hope Wanda gets to use a lightsabre at some point...
Well now, worst case scenario, everything has proceded as Creen has forseen. Best case, Dove was on the level and Delkey would have been expecting the Archons to be shooting to kill...
It was awfully convienient that Digdoug bumped into Dove when he did... that scroll is the only edge we can be certain they have. Still, if Posbrake really is immune to ranged attacks, if the lightning trap is real, if Delkey really do think the golems are in a worse shape then they actually are...
The big question is who's first in the turn order, Homeky or Delkey?
Denar wrote:I wonder why he ordered the archery attack on the Archons? He must want all the assistance from Charliescomm he can get for his turn, and pissing off Charlie by attacking his Archons doesn't really strike me as the best way of going about it...
I'd imagine he was doing much the same thing Digdoug was: Putting on a show for the benefit of his 'allies'. He needed an excuse to bring his archers within range of the King, how else would he fulfill his lifelong ambition of shouting 'checkmate!'? No Archons were harmed in the making of this backstab.
Xarx wrote:Moral of the story: Don't try to get cute with Fate. If a massive air attack is predicted, prepare for a massive air attack. Period.
Yeah, they had the right idea when they were just strengthening their defences. Moral two: Do not to be too trusting of allies who are openly losing patience with you. Especially if you've been less then honest with them about your own
zeuspro wrote:The thing is we know the predictamancer they hired made several predictions. Posbreak may already know that his brother would turn on him "at some point in the future" and have taken appropriate action to prepare that we just dont know about.
What makes you think the Predictamancer wasn't in on it too? The method used to hire him wasn't a particularly secure one...
Keldaria wrote:A few random thoughts..
1: I thought it was impossible to drop alliance and attack that side in the same turn, meaning that unless their alliance agreement allowed specifically for them to attack units of the alliance under certain conditions then it "Should" be impossible to force a transfer in power with anything other than the threat of a battle next turn. So DigDoug being low on spells sucks but will be refreshed next turn I imagine. Of course there is a carneymancer in the hex so that rule might be able to be broken..
2: They dropped the last 2 flying units that could transport things (I assume they were the last 2). If I had to guess I'd say that was done to prevent escape options from the battle next turn.
3: The majority of the air defenses and all of digdougs spells might be gone but the arcons used a lot of foolamancy too.. I'd wager that they were low on resources too, they could still cause damage were combat to resume this turn but if they weren't able to seize the garrison before then I don't see it happening now.
4: Charlescomm is just looking for the biggest payout, and charlie isn't above doing things for free or future money if it means more customers down the road.. breaking up alliances in this case is likely much more beneficial to his ends. So, I'd expect a conversation between Charlie and Postbrake at some point during the turn on flipping the tables
5: King Postbrake was a former Chief Warlord and Prince of the otherside.. I'd be willing to bet that if you gave him a sword he'd easily be able to route the Prince if not murder him. My money is still on postbreak if they can keep charlie in check.
6: A transfer in power, I'm not exactly sure how they could swing that to be honest, so far the only reference we have on that is Jillians backstory about banhammer preping to transfer power under another existing empire.. Any theories on how he plans to accomplish that? By Diplomatic agreement purhaps, or does the prince intend to seize the garrison and found a side then force postbreak the transfer?
With regards to one, in part one of Book Zero, Goodminton broke alliance with one of the Sides that was holding their capital to ransom and attacked within a heartbeat. There can be penalty clauses, but if you've got the capital and ruler in the bag, that won't matter.
On three, I fear the Archons may just 'refresh' once Delkey's turn starts, while the tower spells are gone. Also they represented the work of many turns, rather than a single turn's resources. And of course, some of those Archons retreated, barely scratched, in the early stages of the fighting. Never mind that Charlie could be holding Archons in reserve.
On five, the trouble is that if Posbrake dies, it is over. Also, that sword... does Posbrake have the like?
On six: With the King hostage, the entire Side stands at their mercy, everything else is just details.