Exate wrote:"Croaking flying girls is not possible with tricky veils."
Reading this has made me realize that I have some questions on the spot check rules.
MarbitChow wrote:Spot Check : Any unit with Leadership and any caster can negate a Foolamancy by making a Spot check. Unit rolls 1d6 / level; if total exceeds the Foolamancer's Defense + Foolamancy Spell Modifier (FSM*), the Unit can see through the spell. A unit can attempt to make one spot check for each enemy unit concealed by Foolamancy. A success on any unit reveals all units under the same spell.
First, when does a character's spot check happen? (At the beginning of each rould, when it is time for the character to act, immediately after the spell is cast, whenever there is a possible interaction between a veiled unit and a character who can spot check, etc?) Next, do spot checks consume any actions of the character making them or are they 'free'? Thirdly, do leadership bonuses on the foolamancer factor into the checks? (If they do, how do you handle the possibility that the foolamancer may have different bonuses at the time the spell is cast and when the check is made?) Lastly, once a single character makes a successful spot check, can other characters attack units the spotter can see? (In essence, can we make like Old McBushybrows
ETheBoyce wrote:The last spell he puts up he will likely leave up to Tod as their is currently no Chief Caster, only a Chief Warlord.
This should be another ickypron spell. You should have enough juice in turns 6,7, and 8 to finish hanging all three spells on the tower. That's good since turn 9 is when we expect the attack to reach the city.
MarbitChow wrote:Every time you cross a hex border, your movement is reduced by the movement cost of the hex, whether you're mounted or not. Mounts and Transports allow you to cross hex borders when you have no remaining move (as long as you are not a garrison unit), as long as they have move remaining.
This annoyingly does disrupt my movement plans. The Wandereus, Junetta, T. Coil and Tod group will have to ride the balrug all the way back to Dis on turn 6 instead of getting off 8 hexes away and walking the rest of the way there. (We need Junetta and T.Coil in Dis on turn 6 so they can get to work.) Unfortunately, this means the archons will see the balrug. If we keep the balrug in dis city overnight, then the archons may try to follow it when it goes back to Tenebris on the following turn. After it gets to Dis, we should send it 8 hexes back out with a couple npc riders. They walk back in the morning and the balrug goes the rest of the way back to tenebris by itself after the mounts approaching from Tenebris have had a chance to check the route first.
Exate wrote:Once things move to reporting the simple status of the city, Yuri is much more comfortable and gives a full and detailed, if grammatically abominable, report on the city's status, the casters' activities, the scouts' reports, and the Archons' recent Thinkagram image.
At the in-game time we're having the conversation, I'm unsure if the imps have actually managed to get eyes on the invading force yet.
The manner in which I carry on with the rest of the conversation with Yuri depends on how the questions regarding spot checks are answered. If it was possible for Yuri and his force to have downed the two archons capable of hiya before they could use it, Tod will be somewhat relieved that Yuri had a misconception about the situation and go into kind advice mode to tell him how it could have been dealt with aggressively. Otherwise, he calmly receives Yuri's report and mentally decides that he needs to watch Yuri for any insubordination problems in the future.
I finish the conversation by saying "Yuri, please tell our guests that I will be arriving in Dis city later this turn and arrange for them to be invited to a dinner feast. I need a good setting to politely question them about Charlie's intentions. Dinner would also be a good time to tell them that, from now on, any unallied archon that enters the airspace of one of our cities without first stopping at a hex barrier and getting invited in will be treated as an aggressor."
(MarbitChow, The contract is a bit light on definitions of what counts as an act of aggression. Is that something you already have a strict definition for or are we intended to make it up as we go? (Within reasonable bounds of course.) (If I wanted to, could I get away with dismissing the archons from the garrison by having our heavies pick them up and throw them off the towers?))
On turns 6,7, and 8, Junetta should be using up her juice placing minor wards on the units Triage doesn't have the juice to place full wards on.
When Tod hears about the marbit dollamancer, his first thought is that this is an issue that should wait until after the battle. (Finding a Marbit dollamancer wouldn't be useful to us without further help from Rihanna. We established during the marbit fight in the ruins hex that marbits are hostile to our side.) His second thought, after hearing the theory that the marbit dollamancer was the one that created the items in the ruins is to paranoidly seek out a private meeting with Vinny. He asks the dollamancer to find some innocent pretense to ask Wandereus to allow Vinny to examine the magical blade Wandereus carries. Vinny is then to check if the blade was made by the same person who made the items found in the ruins and report the result to Tod. Tod also asks that Vinny please not tell anyone else about this request. "I don't want Wandereus and Junetta to think I'm being overly suspicious. While I do trust them, I'm the sort to want some verification of that trust."