Naturally I'd like to keep the result as in the previous post, but it doesn't seem fair somehow.
Going with the "all Dwagons are actually in the same stack" thing, well, the Math needs redoing.
Two questions however.
1) Can I have the Stabbers direct their damage at the Dwagons without the targeting penalty?
2) Presumably the answer to 1 is no. All right. If I sent 6 Stabbers, these would croak the first Purple, and the Hobs on that would fall. Now there's two stacks. Can I immediately attack the Dwagons again? Or the Hobs first, then the Dwagons?
Ouch for GK or for Cameria? I think you guys got the better of it.
Like I said, I didn't make the notation clear at all, and all it really does is change an apocalyptic situation to a very disastrous one.
1) Nope. I can't really think of a reason why you'd be able to bypass the targeting penalty.
2) Ugh... tough question; I hadn't considered that possibility. A led stack would be able to "maneuver to avoid" and bypass the whole problem.
Reviewing the rules... offers no guidance. In fact, I can no longer find the clause saying that you have to attack every stack in the hex before attacking an original stack again! (Further review reveals that it got lumped into "Auto-Attacking" while I was cleaning the document.)
So, you are strictly within the rules as stated to hit the Dwagons again, and again, and again.
If we go by the intent
of the rules, the goal is to prevent concentrated fire on one stack at the expense of others. So, if this sort of off-turn restacking happened on, say, the 3rd round of combat, it'd be unreasonable to hit the new stack 3 times to equalize before you can hit the remaining stacks.
I'm inclined to say that immediately after such a fall happens, you can attack either
stack. But, the normal alternating rule would then apply - the stack you didn't attack would have to be hit next, and then you'd have a choice again, etc.Addendum
: While reviewing the rules, I also found that the Dwagon stack is actually ranged - purples are ranged, and the other units in the stack are melée riders. The relevant language:
A stack may be called Ranged if: all units it contains have the Ranged special, or all units, except the leading Commander, are Ranged, or, all non-ranged units in the stack are either riders on Ranged units, or mounts for Ranged units. If a stack is to fight as a Ranged stack when not all of its units are Ranged, then the non-Ranged units do not contribute damage to the battle calculation.
You may want to rethink attacking the Purples before they SONIC you like they did Tram.