WaterMonkey314 wrote:Turn 8:
7 x Melee unit = Tod, please specify which you think are most strategically important.
Tod, is it better to conserve juice for the battle or to ward some of the newly arrived units?
For your second question, I'm going to suggest letting Junetta place -8 wards on the turn 9 units. Those only cost 2 juice a piece and, if Junetta does it, she will still have more juice going into the battle than you. As far as determining what other units get -16 wards, you'll probably want to change your turn 6&7 selections since MarbitChow updated the unit reference in response to your post. You have the choice of warding any 21 of our 47 non-turn 9, unwarded units with -16 wards and Junetta will -8 ward the rest. (MarbitChow, I was somehow off by 8 units in my post earlier, so Junetta will only have 125 juice to spare during turns 6,7,&8.) I think a couple of those -16 wards should probably go to Brick and Vinny. (I also have an odd plan that may be helped by having 2 of the
Also, looking over the reference, I just noticed that our side's up keep is currently increasing at a rate of 100 per turn. To this, I only have 2 responses. First, AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH, WE'RE DOOMED. Second, shouldn't the loss of a 1 UP imp during turn 7 have decreased our upkeep by 5 during turns 8&9?
I do have a few more questions that I would like for MarbitChow to answer. (And some last minute RP to get in.) Hopefully these will be the last.
Swodaems wrote:(MarbitChow, if Bill has 6 or less uncroaked, can he still stack with a living warlord and his uncroaked?)
Living warlords can't join a Horde. Bill can't be in a Horde and a Stack at the same time. If Bill is leading a horde, he can't get a leadership bonus for himself. Bill, a warlord, and the Uncroaked CAN form a stack, but then they don't get Bill's bonus, just the warlord's. (Note: the rules for Bone Warlord had not been updated to reference Horde instead of Stacked. This has been corrected to match Thriller.)
If Bill starts a round stacked with a Warlord and some uncroaked, will the stack automatically become a hoard if the Warlord uses his action to destack? Or would Bill need to use his action to recreate the stack as a hoard?
If a dodging unit is Bull rushed, does it stop dodging?
Will a stunned, calmed, immobilized, or incapacitated unit still be able to stop enemy units from passing thru adjacent squares? And how do units with those conditions react if bull-rushed?
Now for the last minute Rp. (Did we end up ignoring the whole 'trying to hide the thinkamancy item and artifact from Charlie' ordeal? I honestly don't know if my bracer is in Dis or Tenebris during turns 6,7,&8. Some of these ideas assume I've had it with me all along and should be ignored if I don't. Other go the other way.)
Turn 6: We've gotten the name of the side of Ix from Wandereus and Junetta, so, before I head back to Dis, I suggest that Creperum try to use his crown to thinkagram the ruler or chief warlord of IX to see if we have enough information to get thru. (I already used both of the bracer's daily thinkagrams by calling an imp and Yuri.) If we don't, I ask the archons how much detailed information about Ix will cost when I return to Dis. (Are contracts a natural magic in this game, or do they need a mancer of some sort? If they need a caster, I ask how much Charlie charges for notary services in case we ever want to negotiate with Ix, Breatheairia, or someone else.)
Since, Creperum gets 5 thinkagrams per Turn as compared to my limit of 2, we also arrange to have him call me regularly for the next few turns. (I'll take opportunities to step outside the hex if need be to hide receipt of the thinkagrams from the Archons.)
Turn 7: This is when we get to see the stats and names of the elven force for the first time, so I plan to take advantage of it in an interesting manner.
If need be, I pass any information of Ix that we received from the Archons to Creperum on his regular call. The fact he can do more thinkagrams than me makes him better suited for handling our diplomatic efforts for the moment.
(If I have my bracer with me, I use one of it's charges to try and call Zoltarus Loquacious, the former predictamancer of the elves. I want to know if he is still around. (I half expect for him to be the King in Green. I quarter expect him to be a possible ally, and the other quarter expects the thinkagram not to go thru.) If the call goes thru, and it doesn't go to the King in Green, I tell Zoltarus that I have the diary he left in Sunshine Dale and ask him if he wants it back.
I use the other charge of the turn to send a thinkagram to Amandaria, Armolad's mount. (You know a plan is going to reach epic levels of silliness when it requires you privately talk to a woman's mount.) I try to make Amandaria either like me a little bit or hate me with great passion.)
Turn 8: (I call Amandaria again. Same attempt to make her like or hate me me as before.) (If we need a notary for contracts, I ask if Charlie is willing to freely extend the alliance period of the contract by a Turn, (and shorten the non-aggression period by the same,) so that one or more of the Archons may accompany me to a meeting with the elves on turn 9 before the Archons head back out into the field. Charlie's notary services may be needed there.) (When Creperum calls me, I tell him exactly what I intend to do next Turn. If he disapproves, none of the following matters, but if he approves, it's time for some fun. I also get any information he has found out about the Breathearia/Ix war.)
The morning of Turn 9: I set out on one of the 3 mounts that arrived on turn 8 and go 6 hexes toward the invading army. I get off and walk into the 7th hex on my own. Armolad's force is in the 8th hex so we can do the parley thru the hex barrier trick. Cupid and 2 of the non heavy PCs can join me if desired.
My opening line to Armolad is, "Greetings and salutations, Lady Armolad. Please signal Lady Areolawyn and ask her to please connect us to The King in Green if he is willing." (Areolawyn is female, right?) "I have business that should be discussed with him."
(After the King in Green joins in and I have greeted him politely,) I then say, "I'm going to be blunt and tell you that I'm here to seek peace terms that are more favorable to us than to you. If the force I'm looking at is any indication, you can't really afford to be fighting us at the moment." (I glance at Armolad to make this last line seem like a jab at her.) "You have another war going on with the side of Ix that is eating up your resources." (If Creperum was able to find anything out about how the elves are doing against Ix, I add in a few details of the war while playing them as negatively as I can. (IE. If Creperum tells me the elves just captured and colonized an Ix city, I say they just stretched their army even further than before.)) "You can't really afford to be fighting us at the moment."
"Let us leave the contract speak behind for right now. We can get to that later. My offer amounts to this: peace for 50 turns in exchange for Rainbow Springs and agreements to sell Logan's Run and Scarlet Hills with its associated mine relatively cheaply should we raise the funds during those 50 turns." (I offer prices that are only slightly more than the upgrade cost they paid to get those cities to their current levels plus a little extra for any garrison units they have to leave behind.) (Note: As a character, I am hoping to be eventually be bartered down to Logan's Run and an agreement to sell Scarlet Hills at a fairer price. (There is no way they let us have Rainbow Springs. It connects to far too many of their other cities.) As a player, I've read this Darths and Droids annotation
on how cultural differences can affect trade and know this talk can only end one way.)
(Oh, if I have my bracer with me and Armolad starts giving me trouble, I do a trick with it in order to embarass her in front of her men. I look sternly at her and deliver the line, "Kneel before Tod." At the same time, I use the bracer to initiate a thinkagram between her and myself. An image of me that no one besides her can see will pop up in front of her saying the exact same thing. I terminate the thinkagram after delivering the line. Her over reaction should be funny.)
After the talking ends, I use my one remaining move to head back to the 6th hex and remount the naughty kitty I rode there on and it carries me back to Dis.