MonteCristo wrote:ask Stanley to promote a new CW, within Spacerock. ..
why parson didn't do that in the first place and try to convince Stanely to pick a different CW.
Parson was doing just that.
Yes, but that's not what i was asking, what i'm asking is why didn't parson argue with stanely over the position AFTER Maggie "suggested" he make parson CW and convince stanley to change his mind and give someone else the CW position, instead of heading right into the magic kingdom. Only answer i can think of would be that Parson knew that the suggestion spell would make it impossible for him to convince Stanley
You are of course assuming that you can simply promote CWL's freely as you wish without consequence or restrictions. For 1 I don't believe it's as simple as saying "I choose you to be my CWL" even though that's how they made it look. Simply put if you could just change CWL's on the fly then it would be as simple as flopping warlords in the middle of turns as it best suited you. Remember this is turned based combat, just because you have war on all sides doesn't mean you have to make them engage at the same time.. so you've got a battle going in 3 spots, oh look lets make my CWL the guy leading assault number 1, then after they succeed or fail or run out of move, then we'll make our CWL the guy leading assault number 2 and so on until your side is out of move and you end your turn. Furthermore I'd have to assume that changing CWL status off of your turn would be even more restricted, after all you wouldn't want the enemy to all the sudden promote a CWL in every hex you decide to attack on the fly like that, lets keep in mind stanley (formally a CWL of his own side) started out as a basic grunt unit, it was only after he found and attuned to the hammer that he started moving up the chain of command. With that knowledge in mind there isn't really anything stopping them from promoting stabber number 3 to being the CWL of their side, except the lack of a bonus. So if anyone could be a CWL then allowing them to be switched at will would lead to way too much abuse.. IMO there are rules that govern the leaders ability to change their CWL and you can only change CWL's once on your turn or whenever they get croaked/captured.
Of course this too can have ways to abuse and I'm sure there might be a parsons clog on the subject at a later time but if you had 2 forces working together but not allied. Since it is possible for 2 enemy forces to enter the same hexes and not engage with the control of a warlord, it would be very simple to flop warlords by having your Chief Warlord unstack as your need for him finishes in one area and have him walk alone into the "Friendemies" (yes its my own word thats a combination of Friend and Enemy) hex to be captured, then you promote the next guy and move on, when your Friendemy starts their turn they release your warlord into your hex and proceed to do the same with their warlords as needed.
However at any rate I think that its safe to say that at least until next turn there are rules in place that prevent stanley from opting to switch his CWL, unless parson was to be captured.. which the thinkamancer guild may or may not count as capturing him... I don't think they work for any "Side" to speak of, so can a non-side like marbits and/or gobwin tribes, or in this case a thinkamancers guild in the neutrality of the magic kingdom actually capture a unit (with his permission of course) and allow stanley to pick another CWL? That I don't know