Keldaria wrote:You are of course assuming that you can simply promote CWL's freely as you wish without consequence or restrictions. For 1 I don't believe it's as simple as saying "I choose you to be my CWL" even though that's how they made it look. Simply put if you could just change CWL's on the fly then it would be as simple as flopping warlords in the middle of turns as it best suited you. Remember this is turned based combat, just because you have war on all sides doesn't mean you have to make them engage at the same time.. so you've got a battle going in 3 spots, oh look lets make my CWL the guy leading assault number 1, then after they succeed or fail or run out of move, then we'll make our CWL the guy leading assault number 2 and so on until your side is out of move and you end your turn. Furthermore I'd have to assume that changing CWL status off of your turn would be even more restricted, after all you wouldn't want the enemy to all the sudden promote a CWL in every hex you decide to attack on the fly like that, lets keep in mind stanley (formally a CWL of his own side) started out as a basic grunt unit, it was only after he found and attuned to the hammer that he started moving up the chain of command. With that knowledge in mind there isn't really anything stopping them from promoting stabber number 3 to being the CWL of their side, except the lack of a bonus. So if anyone could be a CWL then allowing them to be switched at will would lead to way too much abuse.. IMO there are rules that govern the leaders ability to change their CWL and you can only change CWL's once on your turn or whenever they get croaked/captured.
Of course this too can have ways to abuse and I'm sure there might be a parsons clog on the subject at a later time but if you had 2 forces working together but not allied. Since it is possible for 2 enemy forces to enter the same hexes and not engage with the control of a warlord, it would be very simple to flop warlords by having your Chief Warlord unstack as your need for him finishes in one area and have him walk alone into the "Friendemies" (yes its my own word thats a combination of Friend and Enemy) hex to be captured, then you promote the next guy and move on, when your Friendemy starts their turn they release your warlord into your hex and proceed to do the same with their warlords as needed.
However at any rate I think that its safe to say that at least until next turn there are rules in place that prevent stanley from opting to switch his CWL, unless parson was to be captured.. which the thinkamancer guild may or may not count as capturing him... I don't think they work for any "Side" to speak of, so can a non-side like marbits and/or gobwin tribes, or in this case a thinkamancers guild in the neutrality of the magic kingdom actually capture a unit (with his permission of course) and allow stanley to pick another CWL? That I don't know
From what we've seen I believe the "limiting" factor is that when you remove the CWL status from someone the whole side takes a moral penalty. When Stanley does it to Hamster, Maggie gets more outraged than she ever was in the comic, and even Vurp "My whole tribe got killed and I'm ok with that" gets shocked with that decision.
Compare with transylvito. Don believes it will be easier to send his own CWL into a suicide mission that simply "demoting" Caesar back to regular warlord and sending him into some back village where he can't bother him anymore.
drachefly wrote:CWL change is already expensive, so I don't think there's any particular basis for expecting further restrictions.
If it was expensive money-wise, Slatey wouldn't have been able to promote Trems this turn, as they had already sinked all their money for their last stand.
MonteCristo wrote:oslecamo2_temp wrote:This is a refreshing nail in the coffin of the whole "units auto-disband if they go against their side". We've got mancers everywhere leading their sides to their doom in the name of prophecies. No wonder Stanley has become paranoid.
No exactly. Remember a unit can go against their orders if they feel its within the best interest of the side; as such it stands to reason that a unit is able to do something that isn't in their side's best interests o long as the unit is able to rationalize it is in the sides interests. In maggie's case, while she primarily wanted Parson as CW for the psoinic war, she had the duel rationalization that making Parson CW of GK was in GK's best interest
No pratical diference between the two. One can "rationalize" anything they want to believe, so it's a blank chart to do whatever they please whitout any risk of auto-disband unless their ruler catches them red-handed.