Swodaems wrote:Can we switch out the ballista we're popping on turns 10/11 with mining picks? At .5 up each we'll get 16 of them from 2 turns of dis city's production. We have slightly more than that many assault capable troops to give them to.
Sure, consider it done.
Swodaems wrote:Can a unit cross back and forth across a hex barrier multiple times in a single move action?
Yes, as long as they have sufficient remaining Hex movement available.
Swodaems wrote:I can't find a quote, but I remember it being established that voluntary mounting or dismounting requires an action, but I don't remember it being established who has to pay the action. Is it the mount, the rider, either, or both?
I think I said it was the rider; if I didn't make that official before, it will be now, since it's the rider who has to leap off, and they can't regain their move until after they've dismounted.
Swodaems wrote:Can brickbats still screen if they use another action?
Since screening acts like bodyguarding, I'd say yes. I'm assuming you mean 'dismount' here, since they really can't use an action under normal circumstances.
Swodaems wrote:Under the old rules, a mount didn't need a special to continue moving after his rider acted. Depending on the answer to the above questions, we could use this to potentially bring 8 units across the hex barrier on the balrug in a single phase and have them protected by brickbats.
The flaw in your plan is that the Balrug isn't a mount. It's a transport, so rules that we established for mounts don't necessarily apply. I'd be forced to come up with transport-specific rules. I envisioned balrugs as being slower to load and unload - the rug has to land (thus ending its move), everyone steps onboard, it takes off again... this seemed to me to be at least a 2 action process, in which the balrug has to end it's move to allow units to get on or off. I also envisioned that units on a transport would keep their delayed move, so as soon as the transport stopped moving, they could freely move away and use a normal action.
Units on a balrug could leap off before it had landed, so that it didn't end the move; that would fall under the 'falling' category, according to what the comic has established. Not an issue for the brickabats, obviously, but your regular units might run into issues...
So, at a rough estimate, I'd say its a minimum of 2 rounds to transport all units across the hex, since the 'end transport's move to load' is, I think, a logical requirement; units dismounting from the Balrug while it's still in the air risk falling damage. If they follow regular disembark rules, the balrug lands and ends its move, and all riders can immediately move and attack normally, but now you're looking at 3 rounds to get everyone into the hex.
Based on this information, do you still want to try to capture Armolad? I'm assuming your strike force is Junetta w/ Triage's rod, Yuri, William, Coil, Cupid, 4 Brickabats and the balrug, correct?