MonteCristo wrote:Olive is the chief caster and heir to haffaton, and from what we've seen her authority seems to be on a similar level as that of a chief warlord. She issues orders can even spend smuckers from the treasury. Olive even mentions their poor smucker situation when she says she was hireing charlie to look for Faq(judy did not seem to be involved); so it would seem she is very much aware of their smucker situation. Judy herself seems to do very little leaving day to day matters up to Olive.
Just because Olive can write a check, it doesn't mean she knows how much money's in the bank.
There are certain senses that are exclusive and unique to Rulers.
- Stanley and Slately know precisely where a unit is, what it's health & condition is, etc.
- Prince Ansom, when he was leading the siege to Gobwin Knob, lost a bunch of siege and didn't realize it until someone told him.
- Same thing with Tommy, on the road to Goodfinger.
- Wanda was Chief Caster for Goodminton, and it wasn't until she was Overlady / barbarian that she could sense the upkeep of her uncroaked.
It seems that the difference between Chiefs and Rulers is that while both can order something to happen ("go there" or "I promote you to field"), a Ruler KNOWS
that it's working. Extending this to cover the cost of things & the available funds in a treasury, I would guess that a Ruler has to make it known to his Chief when things are getting low.
MonteCristo wrote:Keywords: in the field
Faq's casters are not in the field, they are in Haffaton's capitol. Units inside of a city when a side falls do not disband, they instead freeze and can not move unless the city is attacked. Furthermore we know that from the battle for jetstone that when the garrison is captured (the city switches ownership) all enemy units are automatically captured... putting the info together, I think its reasonable to assume that when a side falls, all units inside of an enemy city become captives of that city. Disbanding doesn't seem to be a possibility since again, units in cities freeze instead of disbanding.
I guess it comes down to the definition of "the field"...
I was operating under the assumption that it simply meant "anywhere that's not a city of your (former) side"
This might explain how the Magic Kingdom saves caster, though... if it's technically a city, and foreign casters are in it when their side falls, then they would suddenly find themselves wearing bracelets but ALIVE. Quick talk to whoever's the unmentioned Ruler of the place, the cuffs come off, and "welcome to your new home"