youngstormlord wrote:WaterMonkey314 wrote:
Do we know what happens if a multi-capital side loses its current capital? I think the examples we've seen of sides going barbarian have been with single-capital sides (Goodminton, GK threatened, old FAQ), and of course Jetstone managed to move theirs before Spacerock fell.
There are no multiple Capitals. There are towns with the potential to be Capitals, but that's it.
If your Overlord/King is not in one of those towns when your current capital falls to claim it as a capital, the whole side turns Barbarian (everyone inside other towns and in Overlord's personal stack. Everyone else just croaks, except possibly heir and his/her stack). You can see Stanley trying to do it by flying to reach Faq to claim it, the moment GK(town, not side) fell and he turned barbarian. (Faq site, not town. But even if he owned the town, he'd still have to be inside and say "I proclaim this town a new capital of the Side." if the original capital fell. Or he could've just gone Jetstone route and transfered capitals directly, without going barbarian first) Probably.
What that means is that you can't send anyone else to relieve the siege of your capital. You have to send either Ruler or (probably) Heir. That was the whole point of Book 2; Gobwin Knob tried to do a decapitation strike on Jetstone.
Do we have a reference for this particular reading though? As opposed to, say, the capital getting teleported to a secondary capital site upon the fall of the original capital? And I thought the point of Book 2 was that the sole heir (Ossomer) was positioned in the field; following his Arkenturning, Jetstone was heirless, and so the death of Slately would wipe out the side irrespective of the fate of Spacerock and the existence of another capital site.
It's not really clear what the original plan prior to encountering the column on the bridge was, but the point that JS didn't seem to be panicking too much even after it was clear that Spacerock would likely fall suggests that field units don't get wiped (or else what's the point of evacuating?)