Turn

From ErfWiki

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Speculation)
m (Proposed Canon)
Line 4: Line 4:
=Proposed Canon=
=Proposed Canon=
-
A Turn is a period of time, in which certain actions may be taken by a [[Side]].  It is not the same thing as the beginning of the Day.<br>
+
A Turn is a period of time, in which certain actions may be taken by a [[Side]].  It is not the same thing as [[Dawn]], the beginning of the Day.<br>
''(For information about mechanics of defecting to an enemy side, see [[Turning]].)''<br>
''(For information about mechanics of defecting to an enemy side, see [[Turning]].)''<br>
(For the magical discipline see [[Turnamancy]].)
(For the magical discipline see [[Turnamancy]].)

Revision as of 23:36, 4 April 2014

Charlie starts his Turn by invading Gobwin Knob Airspace, on Page 104

Contents

Proposed Canon

A Turn is a period of time, in which certain actions may be taken by a Side. It is not the same thing as Dawn, the beginning of the Day.
(For information about mechanics of defecting to an enemy side, see Turning.)
(For the magical discipline see Turnamancy.)

Acting on Turn

Each day is divided up into a series of Turns, and each Side gets a single Turn per day. There is a natural turn order, resulting in a cyclic turn order. (Eg. Side A will always move before Side B, who will move before Side C, then night will pass and Side A moves again.) Note that alliances affect Turn order.

If multiple Sides ally, they take turns simultaneously, on the Turn of the last ally. For instance, using the example above, if Side A allies with Side C, then Side B will take Turn before Sides A and C, who take Turn simultaneously. If Sides A and B ally, they will both still take Turn before Side C, but they will do so simultaneously instead of consecutively.[1]

At the beginning of Turn:

During its Turn, a Unit may:

Ending a Turn

Once a Side has completed all of the actions it wishes to perform for all the Units on its Side, the Chief Warlord declares the Side's Turn is over. The day proceeds to the next Side's Turn.

If a Chief Warlord refuses to end the Side's Turn, the Turn will eventually end on its own IPTSF Text 77.

Acting on Another Side's Turn

When it is not a unit's turn, that Unit may:

  • Defend itself from attack
  • Attack enemies only when enemies are in its hex.[2]
  • Cast Spells only when enemies are in its hex.[3]
  • Automatically attack when in contact with non-allied units, unless a commander is present.
  • Use Natural Abilities.[4]
  • Change position within its hex (e.g. Lord Hamster's many redeployments during the Battle for Gobwin Knob)

If a Unit joins an alliance during that alliance's turn, that unit may now:[5]

Captured units take Turn with the Side that captured them.[6]

Speculation

Turnamancy may affect the Turn in some way. It has been noted that it can, in fact, be used to end an opposing side's turn prematurely, even if only in a caster link. What other uses it may have in this respect are unclear.

A turn ends on its own possibly through the innate magic of Natural Turnamancy.

It is unknown how turning to another side impacts the start of turn stat recovery. It may be possible for two sides that are close friends, but not allied in the mechanical sense of an alliance, to have all field units switch sides just before the other side's turn starts and recover stats multiple times in a single day. It might even be possible to replicate such an effect artificially on a single side with a Dittomancy Turnamancy caster link.

Turn Order

The order of turns is determined by the presence of a unit of a side in the given battlespace. If no unit of a side is present, then the turn of that side is skipped. LIAB Text 13

1. Carpool
2. Transylvito and JillianErf-b1-p104Same-site.PNG
3. CharlesCommErf-b1-p104Same-site.PNG
4. Gobwin Knob
5. Royal Crown Coalition

Note: As alliances move when it's the turn of the last ally to move, the individual Sides in the Coalition may normally take their turns in a different order.

We know that Haffaton had a turn before Faq but it isn't clear how that turn order interacts with these as both sides no longer exist.

References

1. ^ Word of the Titans#5448054
2. ^ Word of the Titans#2786759
3. ^ Word of the Titans#5931853
4. ^ Ibid.
5. ^ Ibid.
6. ^ Ibid.
Go To:
Personal tools