Turn

From ErfWiki

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
(Acting on Turn: small grammar correction)
(15 intermediate revisions not shown)
Line 4: Line 4:
=Proposed Canon=
=Proposed Canon=
-
A Turn is a period of time, in which certain actions may be taken by a [[Side]].<br>
+
A Turn is a period of time, in which certain actions may be taken by a [[Side]].  It is not the same thing as the beginning of the Day.<br>
-
''(For information about mechanics of defecting to an enemy side, see [[Turning]].)''
+
''(For information about mechanics of defecting to an enemy side, see [[Turning]].)''<br>
 +
(For the magical discipline see [[Turnamancy]].)
==Acting on Turn==
==Acting on Turn==
Line 23: Line 24:
*Use Natural Abilities
*Use Natural Abilities
-
Once a [[Side]] has completed all of these actions it wishes to perform for all the [[Unit]]s on its Side, it declares its Turn is over, and the day proceeds to the next Side's Turn.
+
==Ending a Turn==
-
Captured [[unit]]s take Turn with the [[Side]] that captured them.{{Ref|2|2}}
+
Once a [[Side]] has completed all of the actions it wishes to perform for all the [[Unit]]s on its Side, the [[Chief Warlord]] declares the Side's Turn is over. The day proceeds to the next Side's Turn.
 +
 
 +
If a [[Chief Warlord]] refuses to end the Side's Turn, the Turn will eventually end on its own <sup>[[IPTSF Text 77]]</sup>.
==Acting on Another Side's Turn==
==Acting on Another Side's Turn==
Line 35: Line 38:
*Automatically attack when in contact with non-allied units, unless a [[commander]] is present.
*Automatically attack when in contact with non-allied units, unless a [[commander]] is present.
*Use Natural Abilities.{{ref|5|5}}
*Use Natural Abilities.{{ref|5|5}}
 +
*Change position within its hex (''e.g''. [[Lord Hamster]]'s many redeployments during the [[Battle for Gobwin Knob]])
If a [[Unit]] joins an alliance during that alliance's turn, that unit may now:{{Ref|6|6}}
If a [[Unit]] joins an alliance during that alliance's turn, that unit may now:{{Ref|6|6}}
*Cast [[Spell]]s
*Cast [[Spell]]s
*Attack [[unit]]s
*Attack [[unit]]s
 +
 +
Captured [[unit]]s take Turn with the [[Side]] that captured them.{{Ref|2|2}}
=Speculation=
=Speculation=
-
It appears that the length of day is not limited, and so neither is the length of a turn. This makes it useless to hold your end of turn for longer than necessary, because the sun won't set until everyone has finished their Turn.
+
It appears that the length of day is not limited, and so neither is the length of a turn. This makes it useless to hold your end of turn for longer than necessary, because the sun won't set until everyone has finished their Turn. Besides, the turn will eventually end on its own <sup>[[IPTSF Text 77]]</sup>.
-
[[Turnamancy]] may affect the Turn in some way.
+
[[Turnamancy]] may affect the Turn in some way. It has been noted that it can, in fact, be used to end an opposing side's turn prematurely. What other uses it may have in this respect are unclear.
 +
 
 +
A turn ends on its own possibly through the innate magic of Natural Turnamancy.
==Turn Order==
==Turn Order==
 +
The order of turns is determined by the presense of a [[unit]] of a [[side]] in the given [[battlespace]]. If no unit of a side is present, then the turn of that side is skipped. {{ref|[[LIAB Text 13]]}}
-
:1. [[Transylvito]] and [[Jillian]]{{erf|1|104}}
+
:1. [[Carpool]]
-
:2. [[CharlesComm]]{{erf|1|104}}
+
:2. [[Transylvito]] and [[Jillian]]{{erf|1|104}}
-
:3. [[Gobwin Knob]]
+
:3. [[CharlesComm]]{{erf|1|104}}
-
:4. [[Royal Crown Coalition]]
+
:4. [[Gobwin Knob]]
 +
:5. [[Royal Crown Coalition]]
'''Note:''' As [[Alliance|alliances]] move when it's the turn of the last ally to move, the individual [[Side|Sides]] in the Coalition may normally take their turns in a different order.
'''Note:''' As [[Alliance|alliances]] move when it's the turn of the last ally to move, the individual [[Side|Sides]] in the Coalition may normally take their turns in a different order.
 +
 +
We know that [[Haffaton]] had a turn before [[Faq]] but it isn't clear how that turn order interacts with these as both sides no longer exist.
=References=
=References=

Revision as of 15:04, 5 October 2013

Charlie starts his Turn by invading Gobwin Knob Airspace, on Page 104

Contents

Proposed Canon

A Turn is a period of time, in which certain actions may be taken by a Side. It is not the same thing as the beginning of the Day.
(For information about mechanics of defecting to an enemy side, see Turning.)
(For the magical discipline see Turnamancy.)

Acting on Turn

Each day is divided up into a series of Turns, and each Side gets a single Turn per day. There is a natural turn order, resulting in a cyclic turn order. (Eg. Side A will always move before Side B, who will move before Side C, then night will pass and Side A moves again.) Note that alliances affect Turn order.

If multiple Sides ally, they take turns simultaneously, on the Turn of the last ally. For instance, using the example above, if Side A allies with Side C, then Side B will take Turn before Sides A and C, who take Turn simultaneously. If Sides A and B ally, they will both still take Turn before Side C, but they will do so simultaneously instead of consecutively.[1]

At the beginning of Turn:

During its Turn, a Unit may:

Ending a Turn

Once a Side has completed all of the actions it wishes to perform for all the Units on its Side, the Chief Warlord declares the Side's Turn is over. The day proceeds to the next Side's Turn.

If a Chief Warlord refuses to end the Side's Turn, the Turn will eventually end on its own IPTSF Text 77.

Acting on Another Side's Turn

When it is not a unit's turn, that Unit may:

  • Defend itself from attack
  • Attack enemies only when enemies are in its hex.[2]
  • Cast Spells only when enemies are in its hex.[3]
  • Automatically attack when in contact with non-allied units, unless a commander is present.
  • Use Natural Abilities.[4]
  • Change position within its hex (e.g. Lord Hamster's many redeployments during the Battle for Gobwin Knob)

If a Unit joins an alliance during that alliance's turn, that unit may now:[5]

Captured units take Turn with the Side that captured them.[6]

Speculation

It appears that the length of day is not limited, and so neither is the length of a turn. This makes it useless to hold your end of turn for longer than necessary, because the sun won't set until everyone has finished their Turn. Besides, the turn will eventually end on its own IPTSF Text 77.

Turnamancy may affect the Turn in some way. It has been noted that it can, in fact, be used to end an opposing side's turn prematurely. What other uses it may have in this respect are unclear.

A turn ends on its own possibly through the innate magic of Natural Turnamancy.

Turn Order

The order of turns is determined by the presense of a unit of a side in the given battlespace. If no unit of a side is present, then the turn of that side is skipped. LIAB Text 13

1. Carpool
2. Transylvito and JillianErf-b1-p104Same-site.PNG
3. CharlesCommErf-b1-p104Same-site.PNG
4. Gobwin Knob
5. Royal Crown Coalition

Note: As alliances move when it's the turn of the last ally to move, the individual Sides in the Coalition may normally take their turns in a different order.

We know that Haffaton had a turn before Faq but it isn't clear how that turn order interacts with these as both sides no longer exist.

References

1. ^ Word of the Titans#5448054
2. ^ Word of the Titans#2786759
3. ^ Word of the Titans#5931853
4. ^ Ibid.
5. ^ Ibid.
6. ^ Ibid.
Go To:
Personal tools